End of sorrow part 11

Andrew had been a bible colege student. He was preparing for full time ministry.  That was before his fiancée died. He zoned out for a while. He was withdrawn. He was distent. Many made excuses for him.

Then he met abby. She was bubly. She was outgoing. She would say what was on her mind. She was willing to push him. There were no sacred cows with her. She let him know what was on her mind. 

He was reluctant to date her at first. After a while,he aceepted her. He started to let her in more and more. 

He was starting to consider comming back to the ministry. Now an opportunity to get back to ministry might be presenting itself. Things seemed to going on the right tract. 

After the sunday night service,they went out for cofee. “So. The pastor aproched me today. His farther in law is going to have surgery.  Mrs. Bail is going to care for him. He is considering going with her. He does not want to be seperated from her for that long. He might go with her. He is considering having me take over while he is gone. He is deeply divided over what to do. He seems to be leening towards going. He is devoted to the church and family. I have no idea what he will decide. ” he said.

“It is a tough decison. If he decides to go,are you ready to sub for him?” she asked. “No! Not at all. I believe the lord will give me the strength and wisdom to do the job. Despite penticostal propaganda ,we baptist do believe in the power of the holy sprit. “He said. She laughed.

“I am sad by the reason but i am pleased by the prospect of you being able to get your feet wet. This is a really good opportunity. ” she said.”i feel the same way. It meens a lot that he trusts me.  It seems the deacons like the idea. We will see. ” he said. 

“I imagine you have a flood of surmon ideas?” she asked. “I do! I am not woried about not having anything to preach about. ” he told her. “I did not think you would. ” she said. 

“I will be buisy but thats ok. ” he said.”it is a good buisy. ” she said. “Definitely.  ” he said. “If he decides not to leave for a while you can stil get work towards going into full time ministry. This is an open door. The time is now regardless. You have thw suport of paster bail and the deacons. Either way time for complacentcy is over. ” she said.

“I agree. ” he said. “Good!  Because i will keep harping on you. I am not letting you off the hook. ” she said. “I know. I am ready to get back into things. ” he said. “Good. I’m glad. I am realy happy that your getting ready to persue full time ministry.  I really am. ” she said. 

“You are out of your funk?” she asked.”not totaly but i am getting there. I did use my greef as a crutch. I wallowed for far too long. I am sory i did not see it myself. I regret letting it go on for this long. ” he told her. 

“Its my job to kick in the but if you get too complacent. Its your jon to admonish me if i get complacent.  We build each other up. I am sure some day it will happen. I am sure you will do the same for me. I see us as a team. Some times we will both be where we should be and we will help keep each other on track. ” she said.  “Ok.” he said. 

They drove home. They got out. He hugged her. They said good night and went insude there homes. 

They continued to attend each orthers church. They got more and more involved in each others lives and worlds.  There are always conflicts in any relationship. It seemed to be the inevtible. That was the case with them. 

It was a Sunday night service. She went into the bathroom. She was washing her hands when she saw jacky.

“Hi abby. ” jacky said. “Hi jacky. “Abby said. “I am realy glad you have been coming hear. Your realy becoming a part of our church.” she said. ” thank you. I realy appreciate that. ” abby told her. “It is nice to see him happy again. His spark is back. ” she said. 

“It must be hard to see him with someone else that is not your daughter. ” abby said. “It is not easy. It is time for him to move on. We see that. You have our suport. Both clark and i feel that way. ” jacky told her. “Thank you. ” abby said. 

“We are fully suportive of you two. We appreciated that andrew went to see clark.  We dont object. He did not need our permison. We were pleased that he told us.  “She said. 

Abby had no idea that he had talked to them about there relationship. “The last thing andrew wanted was to cause you any more pain.  He knows this is difficult. ” abby said. “Yes. It will be regaress. Both clark and i are suportive of you and andrew. Lee would want him to be happy. She would not have wanted to see him as he was. ” jacky said.  

“I am glad to see him slowly coming out of the rut he was in. ” abby said. “So am i. I realy like you. I am glad that you are in his life. ” she said. They left the bathroom. 

She wanted to run away. Of course she came in his car. She went back to the sancuatury. She was upset but tried to hide it. This was not the time or the place.  She waited. 

They went to the car after the service. “Want to go out for cofee?” he asked.”not tonight.  I am eiger to getting home. I am tired. ” she said. “You ok hun?” he asked. ” im fine!” she said.

The drive home was unrealistically qiet. He parked the car. They got out. “Why did you ask Clark’s permison to date me?” she asked.  “I did not ask him permison.  I mearly told him that we were an item. He had seen us at the church picnic. He abs jacky were bound to see us . it is a small church. It was a curtisy. I wanted to make sure they were ok with it. I did not want to flaunt it. ” he said. 

“So you never ask his permison?”abby asked. “No i did not. I just wanted there to be no resentment of there parts. ” he said.”do you think they may have interpreted it as asking of permission? ” she asked.

“They might have i supose. I did not intend it that way. ” he told her. “If they had had a problem with it, would you have stoped seing me?” she asked. “I did not think about it. I did not forese that hapening. I assumed that they saw that enough time had passed. I did not consider the posibility that they would have objections. ” he told her.

“Lets say they did object. What would you do?” she asked.  “I dont know. ” he said. “Not the right answer andy! ” she said. “Your mad at me about this?”he asked. “A little bit. ” she said.”why? I did not want to upset them. They have been though a lot. “He said. “Me being upset is ok?” she said. “No of course not. ” he said. “You did not even think about me. You were never maried to leane. Death do us part does not aply. If it did death did you part. Its time to move on. You had no obligation to see them. Your doing nothing wrong.  I am not suggesting we make out in front of them but us luving our lives, doing what we normally do. I dont see a problem. I do see you being wiling to be held hostege to people who wee never your inlaws is. You seem ok with puting everyone else above me! Thats not ok. ” she said. 

“I did not meen to ofrend you.  I did not think you would object!” he said. “If thats true why didn’t you tell me?” she asked.  “I did not think it was a big deal?” he said. “It seems to me you tried to keep it from me. Why are you interested in me feeling sicure in our relationship?  The one thing i need above everything else seems to be the one thing tour unwiling to give me.i crave security, stability.  You cant or wont give that to me. I fear either. “She said.

“Did you want me to not talk to them about this?” he asked.  “No i did not.it was unessisary. Its ok to live your life. I think you agree with me. That is why you did not tell me. You knew i would get mad. I am not the most important thing in your life next to Christ.   Leane is. I am not sure you see the lord as more importent then her. You did not even tell me.i was blind sighted. I had to act like i knew.  I could not tell jacky how i realy feel. Nor would i. I feel for them.they are good people. I dont want to add to there greef. Its ok to move on. Dating me is not a sin. Marrying me is not a sin either. Although at thr rate your going that wont be an issue.  “She said 

“I am sory. I did not consider your feelings. ” he said. “Was it that you did not consider my feelings or did you and juwt disregarded them. I see intent hear. ” she said. “Ok i gues i knew that you would be unhappy with and did it any ways and covered it up. ” he said. ” well at least you acknowledge it. ” she said .

“You should have told me. I would have been upset. I would have rather heard from you then hear it from her way after the fact. ” abby said. ” i know. ” he said. “There is no room for liane or any one else in team andrew abby. ” she said. “I know that and i agree. ” he said. ” it seems like your more sory you got caught. ” she said. “Thats not thr case ab. ” he said. “I find it hard to believe that andy. Everytime you chose her over me. ” she said. 

“That is  not the case! ” he told her. “Thats what it seams. You care about everyone elses feelings but myine.i resent it. ” she said. “I do care about you. ” he said. “I want to believe you but i have been burned by you too many times. ” she said.

“Did you realy want me to say nothing?” he asked. “Yes! Your obligation to them has passed. Your doing nothing wrong. Its ok to be happy.  ” she said. “I only did out of respect. “He said.

“The fact that you hid it from me tells me you knew it might upset me. You went out of your way to hide this. ” she said.

“I felt that i should talk to them. ” he said. “I know that had they objected,you would have left me. She is your soul mate not me. If she were alive and we had met before you two wed, i would not have had a chance. Your my soul mate. I cant remember those who i dated before me. Why? Because they dont matter. Look im upset. I am going to say things i will regret. I think we should call it a night. ” she sugested. “Ok! Good night.” he said.

They started to disperse. “Wait. I am mad at you but i do love you. I dont want the last thing i say to you tonight to be anything but that!, she said.  He hugged her. “I love you ab!, he answered. 

They went to there house. They had a lot to work out. 

End of part 11

Next up

Pastor bail makes a decision regarding rather or not to go with his wife to be with her dad. Abby and andrew try to work things out. 

Leave a Reply

