End of sorrow part 9

Previously on end of sorrow.

Abby a penticostal reaches out to her neighbor. Andrew lost his fiancé just weeks before the weddings.  He was reluctant to agree with it at first.  He finally agred to see her formerly. 

They went to the first resturant they went to. “I had no idea you were planing something like this.” he said.

“Neither did i ! It was kind of an impulse thing. I felt like we should celebrate it. It is a huge milestone for us. ” she said. 

“It really is. It is a new beginning.  ” he said. “I feel that way too. I really like you. I am really excited by the prospects of our relationship.  ” she said.  “I am too. I realy like you. Its nice to have companionship again. Some times you dont realize that you dont have something until you have it. ” he said.

“Its strange, i am always around people. I sometimes keep people at arms laungh. Though i am bubly and a people person, i still tend to be somewhat standoffish. Not with you. I am very comfortable around you. ” she said. 

“I can tell your different around me. I am glad that your feel free when your around me. ” he said. “I really do. ” she told him. 

“You have brought me out of my shell. I am not quite the old me but i am getting closer.  ” he said. “I dont think your mearly as serious  as you let on. I imagine if i gave you a skirt gun , i would be a goner. ” she said. “Yes! You dont want to see me with a skirt gun unlesd you have one and a large shield!” he said. 

“You do have a silly side?” she asked. “I do. I am have six siblings. Manny of them are young. You kind of have to be silly. ” he said.

“I have a feeling that you are naturaly silly. “She remarked. “Perhaps! ” he said. They lqughed. 

“So are you thinking about getting back to ministry. I know your serving the lord. Have you considered going back to the tract you were on? ” she asked.  “I have. I do still have a desire to start churches. ” he said. “I thought that you did. I know you still preach and teach sunday school. I cant believe the lord wants you to sit on the side lines. ” she said.

“I know your right. ” he said. “As i said on our first date, its time to get back to work. Its time to get out of the funk. ” she said. “I know. I am getting there. I really am getting there. ” he said.”good.  I thought you were. ” she said. 

“Your right i used the mourning as a crutch.  I used it as an excuse.  I got used to being in a funk. It became normal comfortible. ” he said.

“Its understandable.  I am glad you see it that way. I am glad that you are giving it up. I am glad to see your moving on. I have to warn you that i am always blunt. If i disagree with something you will know it.” she said.”i am not surprised. ” he said.

“Having said that i will always keep it private. I will discus it with you in private. ” she said. “I figured. I appreciate that. ” he said. 

” you have a lot of potential.  You have a lot of gifts. I want to see you serving the lord. I want you to live up to that potential. I believe that sometimes the battle is not between right and wrong but between right and somewhat right. Dont settle for good enough. I think you know thats what you been doing. ” she said.

“You are right. That is what i have been doing. Its funy i have preached messages along those lines. I think the old me would have a bone to pick with me. I dont want to settle.  I rally dont. ” he said.

“I know that. I wont let you. I know you will keep me honest as well. ” she said. ” i am on the road back. ” he said.”i know you are. I can see that. ” she said.

“So we discussed the posibility of us one day marrying. We both agreed that we need to go slow. We need to take baby steps. Do you see yourself marrying me. Can you picture it? “She asked. 

“Yes i definitely can. I do want to marry you. ” he told her. “Good . i realy want to marry you. I am downright smitten with you andy. ” she said.

Andrew never considered marying anyone else but liane.  He never dated anyone but liane. She was the only person he had had a romantic involvement with. When he had been young there was a girl he told he wanted to marry. He had no idea what her name was. He bearly remembered the event. 

He never even thought about thanking about someone besides liane. When liane died he really was committed to being single all his life.that commitment became stronger.  Even when he met abby. Even when they started to become closer friends. 

Now he was open to marrying her. He was surprised.  He was not expecting this. He was definitively not seaking it. Never the less, hear it was. 

“Why are you so smiten with me ab? I am ptety boring. I am old fashoned. I dont own a tv. I listen to old hyims and a collection of sacred mysic from my college.  I am a cessationest. I sometimes think i am a little dull. Why me?” he asked.

She laughed.she smiled. “I dont know.  I cant explain it. I just am. I did not plan it. It happened. Your not that dull.  ” she said.  “My ant farm might disagree with you. ” he said. She shock her head. They both laughed.

“So i could ask the same of you.  Why do you like me? I am bubly outgoing. I love to dance, listen to klove, own a tv. I am a bit mischievous at times. ” she said.  

” i love spending time with you. I juat do. I am glad your in my life. ” he said. She smiled. 

After a while they paid then went to the car. Then they headed home. She parked. They got out of the car. “I had a great time tonight. ” he told her. “I did too. This was i hoped tonight would go. This was better really.” she said. He hugged her. They said goodnight and went there temporary separate ways. 

The next morning andrew was suposed to be at work at ten am. He slept in until nine. He had plenty of time but he usualy got ready at a leisurely pace. He showered, drank cofee got ready and left.

He was hatdly late but he was a bit frazzled. He forget to get his phone. His work is  far from his apartment but when he Was at work, he stayed there until his shaft was over. 

Despite the dificut start to the day,it went fairly well. He was,whoever happy to be home. He pulled in. Abby was waiting for him. She was wearing jeens whitch usualy ment she was miffed with him.she had been crying.

“Are you upset about something ab?”he asked. “Where have you been?”she asked. “I was at work!”he said.  “Why didn’t you return any of my calls or texts or messages? “She asked. “I was in a rush tgis morning and left mt phone at home. I dont go home while on lunch breaks. ” he said.

“Why is it every time you and i have a mahor break though, you have to go backyards.  Why do you have to be so unstable? ” she asked. 

” i am not having doubts about us. I really did leave my phone at home.  “He said.”you live a mile from your home.  Why bot just go get it?”she asked. “I dont like to leave the premises..even on lunch. ” she told him. “I was woried that we were going too fast. I feard you would go inward again. I figured you had.  ” she said. 

“Abby i am ok. I am not having second thoughts about us. “He said. “Do you still feel like your being unfaithfu to liane?”she asked. “I would be lying if i said i did not feel that a little. I know its irational. “He said. 

“When are you going to be afraid of hurting my feelings.  When are you going to be concerned about being faithfull to me? Don’t you dare say when we are maried. If you dont do it now,  you wont do it later.” she said. 

“Your right.your right on all acounts. Abie i do care about you. Your feelings are importent to me.  I am sorry. I gues not consider your feelings today. ” he said.

” your not bound to liane any more. You are free to marry. I know you wanted to be a one women man.  She is gone. She is not going to come back. Your obligation to  her has passed. ” she told her. 

“I know that. ” he said.”i dont want to play second fiddle.  I dont want to be a consolation price. I dont want to win you by default. I feel like i am the runner up who is declared the winner after the predecessor is disqualified.  Look i have dated guys before you. They dont matter to me. You are my soul mate. No one else. You dont see it that way. ” she said.

He hugged her. “Your not a consolation prize. ” he told her. “The truth is if leane was stil alive and you had met me, i would not be an afterthought. ” she said.

She started to cry. He held on to her. “If your going to mary me,you have to let her go. I dont want to compete with anyone especially a ghost. I cant do it. The vows say forsaking all orthers. Thats what i want. ” she said.

“I know and i agree. ” he said. She held on to him. “I was going to surprise you with lunch but i got upset. ” she said. “Its fine. ” he said. “Do you like tuna fish? ” she asked. “I do. ” he said. 

“I will be back. ” she said. “Ok. ” he said. She walked upstairs to her apartment.  A few minutes she came back out with a plate of sandwitches. She had changed into a skirt. They went to a picnic table. 

“Oh you might want to ster clear of the more recent meseges. Im sorry. ” she said.  “I am sory i was inconsiderate. ” he said. ” bring your phone to work tomorrow.  ” she said “will do. ” he said.

End of part 9

Next up

Andrew and abby goes to each others churches. They get more involved in eachothers world. He considers going back on a ministry tract.  

 

Leave a Reply

