The wedding party part two 

Mat and amber always had a complex relationship.  Tracy had been sheltered.  When she started her first job,she was a fish out of water.  She felt out of place. Amber had been a breath of fresh air. Amber was not quite as sheltered but still tried to not be off the world. 

Amber tried to befriend tracy right away. She started to talk to her right away. Tracy was shy. Amber brought her out if her shell. 

At first,Tracy’s family was concerned about her being friends with a penticoastal. Tracy was not quite as separated as they were. They were concerned about what kind if influence she would have on there little girl. They invited her to supper. It was kind of a fact finding misson. 

Matt was opposed to even giving amber a chance.he dreaded the whole thing.  He had done extensive reserch on the charusnaric movement.  He was very opposed to anything to do with. He wanted his parents to just forbid tracy from associating with amber and be done with it. He trusted his  parent’s and decided to give her a chance  as they requested.  

Amber hit it off with there parents. Thet found her to be very polite. She showed evidence of speituel gowth. She was mature and responsible. 

Matt did not approve of her. He disliked the influence of penticostalism in the church. The charismatic movement waa beginning to creep into the i.v.b. he did not want to like amber. 

He tended to be standoifish to her.he usually greated her but that was about it. She became a frequent guest. After a while she became almost a member of the family. 

He tried to get his parent’s to have an amber free night once a week. They would not go for that. They really liked her. They liked the influence she had on tracy.

Mat and amber bately talked.even small talk was rare.  She had connected with everyone in the family except for Matt.  

“Matthew, you are traning to be a pastor. You appear to have that caling in your life. As a pastor you must have the heart of compassion. A pastor cannot show partially or play favorites. Amber is a sweet young lady. She has earned our trust. She has been a good friend to trace. I think that you should be nicer to her. ” his dad told her. 

Mat decided to put his objections aside. He wanted to honor his parents and there wishes. “You dont like me do you? “Amber once asked him. 

“You seam like a nice person.  I am certain you are a blood brought believer.  I am concerned about you hanging around tracy. I am woried that you could lead her away from the i.f.b.” he told her. 

“Your woried that i will try to turn her into a penticoastal?  “Amber asked. “I think you might influence her perhaps inadvertently.  “He answered.

“I respect your sister. I have no intention of trying to change your views. I reached out to a fellow belever. I realy like your family. I do not understand your antagonism.  “She said.

“I am alarmed by the spreading influence of penticostalism.  I believe we have to seperate from error. I believe penticoastalsm promotes error. “He said.

“You dont sugar coat things do you? “She asked. “With something like this never. ” he answered.”i dont want to turn teacy into a penticoastal.  She was lonely and isolated. I reached out. It is nice to talk to someone who does not sware every twenty seconds. I never thought your perents would adopt me.. I am glad they have.  ” she said. 

“My parents like you. I gues if they are ok with your friendship with trace i should be too. ” he said. 

“Can we agree to a cease fire? ” she asked. ” ok!” he answered. ” peace! ” she asked. She extended her hand and he shock it. 

They tried to be cordial.  He tried to at least be at peace with her. He slowly softened his stance towards her. Over time they went from barely speaking to eachother to becoming friends. She even made birthday cake for him. 

Tracy went off to a independent fundamental Baptist college. Anber went to a penticoastal colege. When amber came home there parents incisted she visited.  They kept in touch. Though she was disdent in geography she had a place in there heart.  Though he was reluctant to admit it she had a place in his heart.  He had a place in hers. 

She came though for the family when they needed her the most.  When there father died she stoped everything and flew to be with them.she did everything from make meals to just siting with them. They never forgot all she did.  

Matt was not someone who wore his heart on his sleeve.  He could be stoic. When she aeived back in town after his farther died,she hugged hin. He fully embraced her. After that,he no longer considered amber Tracy’s friend but his friend. They kept in touch after that.  He talked to her more then tracy had. 

“You have been missed!” he told her at dinner. He ment to conveigh the idea that she was missed by the family. She saw in his eyes that he missed her. 

She told him that she missed all of them. She knew that he understood that she missed him the most.  “Things have not been the same without yoy. Quiter but not the same!” he said.  “I will try not to be too loud. I dont want you to get sick of me. ” she told him. “I never get sick of you “he said. 

He did not realize right away that he had said it out load. He had not planned to say it audibly or had he.”i can get prety loud. Do you mean that?” she asked. 

“No anount of loudness will change how i feel about it. Dont push it though?” he said.she chuckled. “I wont. “She answered. 

“So how are you doing with all this?”she asked. “I am ok!”he answered. “How are you really?” she asked. “Slightly less then ok. There are constent reminders that dad is not with us.  He would be so excited. He would make so Manny jokes. He would probably tell steve he should have eloped.  He would forbid elsa and gracie from ever getting maried. Not a minute goes by that i dont think about him. Its hard to see tracy growing up. I am suposed to keep eveeything together. It weighs on me. ” he said. 

“Hey! You dont have to have it together with me. Condider me your emotional suport system.  I meen that. ” she said. “Thank you. I realy appreciate that. ” he said. “Please utilize me. “She pleaded with him. “I will!” he said. “Good!” she said.

After a while,they decided that it was time to head on. She was about to pay her part of the bill when he stoped her. “I got this!”he said.”are you sure?i should be paying for your meal. Your the one that has to put up with me for two houers. “She said.

“I had not considered that. ” he said.”your not going to sing are you?” he asked. “You dont like my singing? “She asked. “Your a fine singer. ” he said. “I might posibly sing and i might raise my hand.  “She said. “Woa! Wait a minute i draw the line at hand rasing. “He said. “Good luck with that. ” she said. 

He paid the bill. “Thank you. “She said. “No problem.  I am happy to do it. ” he told her. “You do know that this is going to be the longest two houers of your life. “She said.”i had a feeling that that was the case.” he said. 

He got the recept. They got up to leave. They went to the door and excited the restaurant.  He held the door for her. She thanked him. They walked to the car.

On the way home, she did sing along to the radio. He tried to not let it brother him. “How are you doing? “She asked. “Im ok. ” he said. “Just making sure. “She said in response. 

“Its good to see you. You drive me crazzy but i am glad to see you. I missed you. ” he told her. “I missed you. I am glad to see you. I enjoy driving you crazy. I dont intend to stop any time soon. ” she said.

“At least i know where you stand. “He said.”someone has to keep you on your toes. “She said. ” is that so?” he asked.  “It is” she said.”your very qalified for tour task. “He told her. He poked him lightly. They laughed. 

As the car drove back to the hometown,matt looked over at her.he smiled at her and she smiled back at him. She loved the way he looked at her. 

Despite her musical taste he realy enjoyed being with her. She loved talking to him. She wondered if he felt the same way she did about being with him.she was curious but not enough to ask. She was not sure he wanted to know. 

The car arived at the town. He drove to his mom’s house.  This was his childhood home.  “Thank you for picking me up. ” she told him. “I really was happy to do it.” he reaplied. “Its so good to see you. ” she said. “It is also good to see you.” he said. 

He parked the car in the driveway. In a way amber was a part of the family,his family. It was hard for him to admit it acept in his thoughts.  He knew how he felt.he was so glad that he was back. He knew that it would only be for a short time. He would enjoy her presence as long as she was hear. 

She was hear. He would savor the time she was hear. He would enjoy her time hear. He would not think about her leaving again.  

To be continued.  

Leave a Reply

